Monday, November 26, 2007

2008 Heinlein Award; Winter 2008 Ad Astra

If you're a National Space Society member, it's time to vote for the 2008 Heinlein Award, to be presented at the 2008 International Space Development Conference.

I got my notice by email; voting is easy from there. Page 8 of the current Ad Astra has the details if you didn't get the email.

There are a lot of other features in the Winter 2008 Ad Astra magazine related to prizes and awards. You'll have to get the magazine (easiest way: become an NSS member) to see all the glossy pictures and read the interesting articles, but for now here's my dry summary of the parts most related to this blog:

Pages 19-21 have a detailed report from Leonard David on the X PRIZE Cup.

The cover story - The Top 20 Space Visionaries - includes several visionaries who have been involved with prizes. These include Burt Rutan, Peter Diamandis, Robert Bigelow, and Anousheh Ansari. You could easily make a case that some of the other visionaries have contributed to space prizes, too. Jeff Foust, Clark Lindsey, and Laura Woodmansee contributed to the cover story.

The Activities Update section covers the Baen's Universe Science Fiction Contest. This was held by the science fiction magazine and the NSS. It looks like there will be another contest in 2008. It looks like all of the 2008 rules (eg: end date) aren't settled yet, but here's more information about the contest.

The Activities Update section also covers the NSS Banner Design Contest.

Finally, the inside back cover gives details on applying for the 2008 NSS Scholarship to the International Space University.